Our Crazy Life

Raising three kids just one day at a time

The Story of Us – Part 4 April 17, 2009

Filed under: our story — Jamie Payne @ 9:34 am

The only reason why I got up the nerve to call you was because….

He had a reason to call me other than the burning desire to reconnect with the crazy drunk girl who sloppily gave him a phone number to a phone she couldn’t be reached at for an entire month?  Did my cousin put him up to this?  Did she feel sorry for me because I had decided to leave my seemingly happy existence in Chicago and move to cheesehead land? After this butthead gave me his explanation as to why he had bothered to call me in the first place, I planned on spilling my beer all over his lap.  I was NOT a charity case!!

Jason: …my mom was reading her Star Magazine a couple of weeks ago and she just happened to look at my horoscope.  It said that I had met someone from out of town and she’s “the one”.  I knew that it was you.  The only problem was that when gave me your phone number and the date you’d be moving, you forgot to write down your name.  I had to call Wendy’s house and talk to your uncle Ron so I could find out your name. 

My next rational thought after I gently placed my Bud Light back onto the bar? I wanted to marry this blue-eyed cutie and have his babies. 

The next couple of months went by in a blur.  I started my job with Albany and spent all of my free time with Jason.  We went to dinner and to movies.  We took our bikes to High Cliff to ride the trails.  He introduced me to more of his friends and everyone made me feel so comfortable.  If Jason was working anywhere near my office, I’d even meet him for lunch.  I liked his parents and he liked mine.  We became inseparable.  

After dating for 3 months, we decided that we both need to move out of our parent’s house and decided to look for apartments together.  To say my dad was displeased would be putting it mildly.  I knew my feelings for Jason were the real thing though.  I was 100% in love with this man and I wanted to spend the rest of my life loving him.  So we searched the area for an apartment we both liked and finally found one in Appleton.  We decided to move the week that my parents would be on vacation up at the lake house.  It would be so much easier on my dad if he wasn’t there to see me move my things yet again. 

The night before the big move, Jason and I decided to just stay in and get to bed early so that we’d be fresh in the morning.  Since we had picked up the key to our new apartment earlier in the day, we thought it would be a good idea to take another look at the rooms and figure out where things should go.  I was totally exhausted and borderline crabby when we got there.  Jason and I made our way to the bedroom where I slumped down to the floor; trying to visualize the best arrangement for my furniture. 

Jason knelt down in front of me and had this weird look on his face.  What was he doing?  I was trying to have a conversation with him and he was just staring at me.  I thought I had a good idea of what it was that he wanted.

Me: No, Jason.  I am not about to make out in a empty bedroom.  I’m tired and I just want to go to bed.  

I closed my eyes, laid my head against the wall and sighed dramatically.  I had to prove my point!

Jason: That wasn’t what I wanted to ask you. 

I looked up to find Jason smiling at me with a ring box in his hand. 

To be continued…