Our Crazy Life

Raising three kids just one day at a time

Making a Comeback! April 15, 2011

Filed under: random chatter — Jamie Payne @ 8:49 am

Yup.  It’s been almost a year since I last posted on Our Crazy Life.  Why?  Because life got even crazier.  No, we haven’t added yet another child to our family but our kids are getting older.  They’re getting more busy…more active…their schedules are killing me!  And since I last posted Jason has become a Master Plumber  which means he’s currently heading up two huge commercial jobs and has become a total stress ball.  And then I decided I wasn’t being challenged enough at work and realized that I love payroll and HR which then got me promoted to Payroll & Human Resources Manager.  Let’s also not forget that Ayden decided he wanted to join Cub Scouts this past fall and somehow I found myself volunteering to be his den leader.  Probably because I had NO idea how much work was really going to go into being a den leader, but I love the time we get to spend together so I really can’t complain.  Oh, and then there’s karate.  Three days a week karate.  The boys love it but I normally fly solo with all three kids and by the time we’re back in the car driving home, all I can think about is a yummy, cold glass of wine.

Okay, so now you know that life has gotten crazier since last July and I simply stopped blogging because I couldn’t carve out the hour or so that it seems to take me to write up a decent post.  Instead I became a blog stalker.  I read other people’s blogs.  A lot of the blogs I like to read are written by moms.  Busy moms…stay at home moms…moms who work outside of the home.  Moms with lots of kids and crazy schedules and moms who share their not-so-proud mommy moments which only help me feel more okay about my failures and successes at being a mom.  I can relate to these moms. 

And then I realized that maybe there are stories I’ve told that another mommy out there could relate to.  I mean, let’s face it.  I’m far from the perfect mother.  I’ve yelled at my kids when they really didn’t deserve it.  I’ve skipped bath time because at that particular moment I knew that I didn’t have the energy in me to even turn on the shower.  And I’ve definitely served up a kick ass PB&J for dinner because I forgot to plan something else the night before.  But while I have plenty of bad mommy moments I have some pretty awesome ones too.  Like yesterday when Ayden’s afterschool teacher told me how proud she is of Ayden’s behavior lately and how respectful he’s been.  Or the other night when I came around the corner to see my boys snuggled up on the couch together.  Ayden had his arm around Jameson and Jameson was all tucked into Ayden.  And I love it when their faces light up each day when I pick them up at afterschool.  My night-time snuggle sessions with Ava sooth me probably just as much as they do her.  When we sit down  at the table for dinner (that I actually cooked) and talk about our day, I’m simply amazed that I’ve been blessed with such a wonderful family. 

So to any moms out there who sometimes feel like they simply can’t live up to the expectations that are out there for us all to be perfect, don’t worry.  I think there are a lot more of us just struggling to make it through the day.  We don’t need to be perfect.  We just need to love our families and give them the best we can. 

Ayden and Jameson in their karate uniforms

 

Ayden, Jameson and Ava...all three of my babies:)

 

4 Responses to “Making a Comeback!”

  1. wendy urban Says:

    now that your back, i want some more recipes on here!!!! ha ha..wendy

  2. mom aka doris Says:

    Woo hoo! It’s soooooo good to see your return to blogging. I miss your posts. I suppose I should reprise my blog. Ill ponder it.

  3. Deb Says:

    Glad to get the update from the Paynes…now if the Rectors can only begin posting again, everything would be right with the world!!!


Leave a Reply

