Our Crazy Life

Raising three kids just one day at a time

It’s a Tradition April 7, 2009

Filed under: family,random chatter — Jamie Payne @ 9:12 am

For as long as I can remember, I’ve gotten an Easter basket.  I remember the year that my bunny basket transitioned from cute little basket filled with candy to an adult sized fun land.  It was the Easter of my senior year of high school.  I had one of my guy friends over to celebrate with us and I thought his eyes were going to pop out of their sockets when mom plopped my basket in front of me.  There was candy…there were movies…there were CD’s…the basket itself was so large that I used it as my garbage can in the dorms.  

Back in the good old days, we used to play “Hot & Cold” to find our baskets.  You know…hot when you get close to the hiding spot and cold when you’re too far away.  Well, somewhere along the way Peter decided to make things a bit more challenging for me.  One year he decided to make up a bunch of clues, hide them in plastic eggs and make me really work for my bunny basket.  I’m not very good at riddles so about half way through…as the clues were getting harder and harder…I started to get frustrated.  Frustration led to anger and anger led to me wanting to nail Doughboy in the head with one of his damn plastic eggs! 

I’m happy to report not much has changed except that Jason and my poor innocent children are part of the hunt now.  We start with one clue-filled plastic egg and then the search for the well hidden bunny baskets begins.  There has been much discussion taking place regarding this years egg hunt and today I received this in my inbox (forwarded by my mother)….

 

From:pete rector

Sent: Monday, April 06, 2009 4:28 PM
To: Debra Rector
Subject: Hunt

 

The Easter Egg Hunt clues are completed.
I finished somewhere over Northern West Virginia last night.Jamie and Jason will need to bring the following supplies and equipment to successfully complete the hunt:

 

1. Compass
2.
Flash light
3.
GPS
4.
Wet Suit
5.
Diving tanks
6.
Gauze, antiseptic , and snake bite kit
7.
Hip waders
8.
Lubricant
9.
General climbing gear
10.
Food for 3 days two nights
11.
Bus tokens
12.
2 dozen caramel brownies (for me while they’re gone)
13.
Each will need a Passport and visa
14.
A live chicken
15.
Four pounds of goat cheese
16.
A Spanish dictionary
17.
Pry bar
18.
Baking soda (not powder)
19.
20 Mentos
20.
Extra set of  clean underwear

Game on Doughboy….GAME ON!!!!!!